I’ve decided to do a bit of research on the history of Maldives

Yesterday I decided to take up a new hobby and do a bit of research on the history of Maldives, In Sha Allah.

So I wondered where I could get reference materials for this research and I thought of the Maldives National Library. 
I visited the Library and got a membership from there. 
Quick observation, it was was pretty sad how small the library is. Especially considering that its the one and only ‘national’ library.
There was one section for English books, one for Chinese and Dhivehi books, one for the British Council and another for ancient Dhivehi books apparently.
I walked in expecting a couple of floors of rooms filled with books AT LEAST. But turns out, all of the comparatively limited number of books can sit happily on just the one floor.

Anywho, all you need to apply for the membership was,
a form that could be downloaded,
a ppt sized pic WITH WHITE BACKGROUND…they were quite specific on the form (haha..why!),
a copy of your national ID Card
and MVR 80/-. Easy peasy!
I applied through their reception, and membership was processed in a couple of minutes. 
They told me I could rent out a couple of books at a time.

When doing this research, my first priority area is on the history of Islam in Maldives.

There is so little I know and I heard that there is so little we can know based on the heartbreakingly scarce amount of information available on this topic.

I had a quick look at the books in the library and the content of information about the history of Maldives on the internet, and I’m assuming we can’t get any information on our rich past today due to civil conflicts, low literacy rate, lack of professional historians and writers, limited literacy pioneers, a general adoption of a non progressive and simpler way of life by the majority and perhaps even negligence in the past.

For whatever the reason, the horrible truth is that, the information about our past is simply not there. And the information that we do have is extremely measured, yet we have no choice except to derive conclusions based on it.

I felt quite betrayed by all this. However, I am excited to find out whatever I can from whatever content I can get my hands on.

The first book I choose to analyze, is the Dhivehi translation of the accounts of his travels to the Maldives by the great Muslim explorer, Abu Abdullahi Muhammed Ibn Battoutah from Morocco.
This translation is completed by Uz. Mohamed Ibrahim Luthufee, Special Advisor to the National Institute for Dhivehi Language and History.

25182332_10159731981030654_2528374298319812424_o

Having had an overall look at the book’s contents and a rough scan on the internet, I have decided to blog the details of what I find, which will be split into potions and compiled later, In Sha Allah :).

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

25435186_10159736316900654_672852116_o

*End*

4 thoughts on “I’ve decided to do a bit of research on the history of Maldives

Add yours

      1. Not published yet. Shakirbe is working on it since maumoon’s era :p upon his request. Shares some of his research in villa college with his dhivehi students. It’s interesting :)…btw ur blog 👌

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑